Explore the rich history of Mevagissey, from the Bronze Age through the infamy of smuggling, and the fascinating detail of village life in times past. The museum is housed in a dockside 18th-century building used to construct and repair smuggling vessels.
This free museum takes up three floors of a 1745 boat-builder's workshop on the inner harbour. The roof timbers are made of spars from smuggling boats, known as 'revenue-dodgers'. The building was erected flush against the rock-face. Boats were built on the ground floor, with a carpenter's shop above and a storage area on the top floor.
There is much more to Mevagissey than its history as a smuggler's haven, though. See agricultural tools, including a cider press and apple crusher used to make the local cider. One fascinating piece of equipment is a horse-drawn barley thresher.
See what life was like in centuries past with a recreated traditional kitchen, complete with a fully functional cloam oven. These are small clay ovens, usually built into the side of a chimney, and often seen in traditional Cornish houses. An archive of old photos shows what life was life in Mevagissey since the middle of the 19th century. The top floor exhibits showcase objects found on nearby beaches or captured in fishermen's nets.
Outside the museum entrance is the Armada Anchor, dating to 1588. The huge iron anchor was netted by a local fisherman, Colin Williams, near the Dodman in 1975.
The Museum is a registered charity and is free for all.
Open daily from 11 am till 4 pm from Easter until November.
Tel: 01726 843105